Thanks Thanks:  2
Likes Likes:  7
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Hmm! Time for a Can am Project post - Commander Long travel supension mods.

When I first bought my Commander I was not impressed with the suspension so I purchased a Turnkey LT kit. It was a prototype so I had my share of issues with it. The top "A" arms utilized 1/2" Hiems for the pivots and 1" uniball for ball joint. The problem is I am an aggressive driver and broke several Hiems and wore out many of the top uniballs in less than a year. So I decided to replace the 1/2" hiems with 3/4" and the 1" uniballs with 3" Ballistic uniballs. The first thing I need to do was to build a jig for the project. Once you start cutting things off you need to be able to put them back in the same place.

Here is the jig in the Mill cutting the old uniballs off. I use a 3" hole saw that match's the new uniball diameter

Here are the Ballistic joints

Uniball bolted in place ready for welding

2. Thanks WV Hot Rod Rhino thanked for this post
    Likes WV Hot Rod Rhino liked this post

Welded up. I turned a slug in the lathe to zero fit the Id of the race to keep it from warping

Size difference

Ballistic uniballs dissasembled.

Chaper two will cover replacement of Hiem joints and frame mods to accomadate the much larger units.

4. Thanks WV Hot Rod Rhino thanked for this post
    Likes WV Hot Rod Rhino, Kenny G liked this post
    nice!!!
    James Davis
    If you have questions call me!!!
    304-673-2602
    304-877-3419
    Check out our web https://jbsperformance.com/
    Email to - jbsperformanceinc@aol.com
    Ship to - 131 Davis Ct., Mt. Hope, WV 25880

Nice looking work.

Sent from the drivers seat of my truck.