Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Way OFF topic diatribe

Hello all. I am SteveS, a long time member.
    Today has been quite a day for me. I am hurting for a new X4. My old Rhino. As old as they get since it is a 2004 model. Still runs good, other than a failing fuel pump (electric aftermarket).

One topic that came up recently was alluding to how things have changed over time. I am 72 years of age and things certainly changed along the way. I was a senior engineer (but not "self aggrandized") as "Tin Can" is and was. I had no formal schooling but had a great Mentor that worked along with me. He was an Electrical engineer, but had a good background in mechanical engineering. I started out as a "Toroid winder". The toroid being a doughnut shaped "magnetic' base which was wound in and out of the donut with wire to create a transformer of special character. I went for the mechanical field then, learning as I went. I have developed in the mechanical, electronics and optical fields and done quite well, becoming a senior engineer in the company. Sad to say, the company has declined to some degree. I have been retired for some 10 years now, so I am in no position to say that other than looking at the last few years that I was there, sad to say. Sort of taken over by a few "engineer" types that were brought in when our company bought out the company that they were with. At any rate, it was a wonderful time that I had when I was in the early years of its growth and success.

I have entered a new phase in my life, where I still do "engineering" but on my own dime and time. I have always enjoyed "inventing" things since I was a child. Many stories I could tell about events, good and bad, that have happened to me. I feel that I have had a guardian angel looking out for me, in life and serious accidents, and the like, that have happened to me and my own. So sad for me now, since they are now gone from my life.