Thanks Thanks:  1
Likes Likes:  3
Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Is an ECU flash needed with a sheave kit?

I am new to the SXS crew, as a matter of fact I haven't even picked up my machine yet and I already have upgrades I would make.

So I was looking at the sheave kits from JBS and wondering if the computer based speed limiting in the X2 will cut off the added top end you can get with the upgraded sheave. Is Weller the only one advertising the have "Cracked" the ECU?

Thanks
    Dave

2. Likes WV Hot Rod Rhino liked this post
    Welcome to the forum! Yamaha has the speed and revs limited. Weller is the only place offering a reflash for the ecu that I am aware of.

"
    White Shadow " Wolverine X2
    JBS Performance Extreme Sheave
    JBS Performance Suspension Springs
    Team Alba Racing ECU
    Rigid Side Shooter Led
    Yamaha Cab Enclosure
    Bazooka Party Bar

Welcome. I completely understand the need to add stuff before you even have a chance to use it, as I had my X4 for a month before we even went for a real ride in it.

Now your question of a reflash being "needed"... As of right now there is only 1 company that has been able to "crack" the code of the ECU/ECM. That company is Weller Racing. They were able to "crack" it after other companies had tried and given up. Now, as Timmi said, this machine is both speed and RPM limited, which makes things more difficult.

So on to "do you need" it??? If you are only riding slower than 45-50MPH regularly with no need to be able to hop up to speed for a short distance...No you wouldn't "need" it. Do you ride where you may have to jump on the highway from time to time to get somewhere and don't want to hold up traffic? Are you somewhere that the trails are set up so that you can go 50+ without worry? Are you looking for the most from your machine right now? If the answer is "Yes", then you DO need it.